Challenger outback camper

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 20:03
ThreadID: 53086 Views:4125 Replies:3 FollowUps:5
I am looking at buying a used (only slightly) 2003 Challenger Outback camper SA, trailer. The unit is in near new condition with just about all possible options on it. It was bought new by current owner.

It has a zip on fully enclosed annex as well as a zip on screened awning, giving it a 23'square ground area fully setup, totally enclosed.

7 leaf shackle springs on a 45mm Square axle with 6 stud sunraysia style wheels and spare with hydraulic O.R. brakes and a built in gell battery and lighting system with a pure sine wave 300w inverter and full battery recharge from tow car / 240v / and optional solar input, with Piranha monitor system.

The rig is in pristine condition and as far as I can tell has never been on gravel let alone Off Road, not a serious scratch on it.
It was used for family holidays to Byron Bay with six people sleeping in it, hence the annex and enclosed awning. He is asking $12000 ONO. Your thoughts ladies and gentlemen?

Colin

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 20:20

Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 20:20
My thoughts......buy it!!! and store it at my place :)
AnswerID: 279597

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 21:15

Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 21:15
Yeah OK.
FollowupID: 543780

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 21:17

Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 21:17
awwww come on :)

ok gimme the old one as a project then :)
FollowupID: 543781

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 15:45

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 15:45
OK mate,
$200 for the new tyres (fitted last Aug) and remaining rego, till August 2008, and its a deal.
Colin.
FollowupID: 543906

Reply By: GerryP - Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 21:59

Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 21:59
Hi Colin,
I bought a secondhand Challenge a year ago and couldn't be happier. It is very well made with good attention to detail. The canvas is excellent and has survived torrential downpours over many days, without so much as a drop inside - not even the bedding up against the canvas got damp. Gareth, the guy that owns the company was really great to deal with and extremely helpful, without being even slightly pushy. Go for it, you won't be sorry.
Gerry
AnswerID: 279622

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 07:28

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 07:28
G'day GerryP
Yes it does appear to be very well built, maybe why they are good for use as rentals. I asked on here to see if they have any weaknesses that maybe inherent, so no news may be good news!!!!

I do like the unit, and the price would seem at first a bit high, but I realise that it has every option possible and that would raise the price.

Thanks Gerry,
Colin.
FollowupID: 543841

Reply By: Member - Lloyd B (NSW) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 08:04

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 08:04
We hired a challenge camper trailer (off-road model) for a ten week 15000k trip around FNQ, the top end and central Aus last year.
The trailer was brilliant. We travelled some pretty corrugated roads, towed it around Fraser Island and through a few creek crossings here and there. The trailer performed very well and was well set up for the job. Only had one day of rain in ten weeks but the trailer stayed dry and dust free the whole trip.

Only a couple of minor problems. The hydraulic override brake reservoir seemed to leak fluid at certain speeds and road conditions that ended up on the rear door of my vehicle. Wrapping a rag around it and tying off with a piece of cord stopped this problem.

The other was the bottom of the external water pump was hit by a stone and snapped off coming out of Lawn Hill NP. We just plugged the hose to stop the water tank draining. Could probably do with a bit better protection around the bottom of the pump.
AnswerID: 279694

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 15:42

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 15:42
Lloyd B
Funny you mention the water pump, this unit has a small mud flap under the trailer just in front of the pump, protecting the pump and my guess is it was fitted from new.
The rag would also prevent any dust getting in the cap breather hole too.

The unit appears as tough as boots.
Thanks.
Colin.
FollowupID: 543905